International Centre for
Sports Studies

Avenue DuPeyrou 1
2000 Neuchâtel
Tel +41 32 718 39 00


Tue. 23 September 2014

NMMU celebrates its graduates… and its new students!

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) officially inaugurated the 8th edition of the NMMU/FIFA/CIES Programme in South Africa and awarded diplomas to the class of 2013-2014 last week in Port Elizabeth.

Port Elizabeth was all abuzz with activity to welcome the new participants in the NMMU/FIFA/CIES Programme who started their classes on 8 September and to celebrate the 25 students who received their diplomas the following day.

Masterfully orchestrated by Vernon Oosthuizen, the opening and closing ceremonies once again showed the convivial and positive atmosphere that NMMU has contributed to the Programme for more than seven years now.

The new students were immediately initiated to complex sports management exercises while enjoying a few games intended to break the ice and get to know each other.

As for the graduates, they appreciated the official speeches as well as the superb photo review of their months of study at NMMU during a celebration in the presence of Victor Exner, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Khaya Matiso, Dean of Students. Special thanks to NMMU Marketing and Corporate Relations Director Pieter Swart, who was perfect as the Master of Ceremonies!

After receiving their diplomas, Lorinda Nel and Urban de Kock spoke on behalf of their classmates. In speeches combining humour and emotion, they emphasised that “the NMMU/FIFA/CIES Programme is unique in many aspects: Its academic quality, the choice of guest speakers and the network of friendships created during the curriculum. There is definitely a life before and a life after the Programme.”

All our congratulations and best wishes for professional success to: Lwandile, Francis, Brian, Marnus, Matthew, Lunga, Clyde, Desmund, Lorinda, Urban John, Elina, Lugambo, Ronald, Stanley, Luntu, Evangelos, Mawethu, Josephat, Rudolph Tino, Anga, Ndivhudzannyi, Arvo, Cedrick, Zukile, Bonginhlanhla and Mtthetheleli.

And welcome to: Elzain, Koketso, Maryna, Maximilian, Warren, Matsobane, Melikhaya, Bogatsu, Sarah, Philemon, Zuko, Daniel, Mziwoxolo, Keutsepilemang, Noncedo, Nyaniso, Pumza, Ayandiswa and David.

This website uses cookies – limited to technical and analytical cookies – in order to allow your browsing and enhance your experience.

For more information, please see our cookie policy and our privacy notice.

I understand