The Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is an integral part of the FIFA Master Executive Board, forming 7 of its 11 members. The Scientific Committee is responsible for all issues at the programme and student level and fulfils two key roles. The first is that it ensures the overall quality and coordination of the academic teaching within the FIFA Master, and the second is that it makes the selection for each edition’s postgraduates. In order to maximise the quality of this unique course, it is important to ensure that the FIFA Master accepts postgraduates of only the highest quality.

The basic admission requirements that outline the ideal candidate profile can be found at the beginning of the application form. In addition to these basic requirements, it is also expected that postgraduates are able to integrate into and evolve within the international and multicultural environment. Most importantly, postgraduates must be fully committed to the programme and be actively involved in all that the course offers. This is crucial in creating and maintaining an excellent and dynamic atmosphere within the group and a strong collective and creative spirit.

Its President, Denis Oswald, is a Professor in Law, and a highly regarded member of the international sports community. Besides his active role as the Director of CIES, he is an Executive Board member of the IOC, President of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations, President of the International Rowing Federation, head of the Coordination Commission for the London 2012 Olympic Games and an arbitrator for the Court of Arbitration for Sport. His continuous commitment to, and involvement in, the international sports community is truly inspiring for everyone involved in the FIFA Master.

The FIFA Master Scientific Committee comprises the following representatives.

  • The CIES Director, Prof. Denis Oswald,  who presides the Scientific Committee;
  • Prof. Martin Polley and Dr. Heather Dichter from De Montfort University, Leicester, UK;
  • Prof. Dino Ruta and Prof. Marco Elefanti from SDA Bocconi School of Management, Milan, Italy;
  • Prof. Petros Mavroidis, Antonio Rigozzi and Associate Professor Madalina Diaconu from Université de Neuchâtel, Neuchâtel, Switzerland.

This website uses cookies – limited to technical and analytical cookies – in order to allow your browsing and enhance your experience.

For more information, please see our cookie policy and our privacy notice.

I understand